History of the building

The All-Russian Decorative Art Museum is located in the historical center of Moscow in a building complex - an architectural landmark of the late XVIII-XX centuries. The events of several epochs and the names of many famous historical figures are associated with this place.

From the second quarter of the XVII century up to the 80s of the XVIII century the country estate of the boyars Streshnevs was located on the territory where nowadays we can find museum buildings and a museum square. The first Streshnev who owned the plot was Lukyan Stepanovich Streshnev, whose daughter Evdokiya became the second wife of tsar Mikhail Fyodorovich Romanov (1626). It was exactly a country estate with a number of wooden buildings and substantial plots of land. According to modern calculations the total area of the Streshnevs' estates in this area of Moscow in the early 1740s was not less than 10 hectares.

content-img.jpeg

XVIII century

After the edict forbidding the construction of stone buildings outside St. Petersburg was abolished (1741), stone buildings appeared on the estate's territory. In 1772 the Streshnevs' estate comprised a whole complex of dwelling and household buildings. The main house had two floors and was built on a stone base. In 1782 the Streshnevs' country estate was inherited by Count Ivan Andreevich Osterman, a Russian diplomat, who since 1775 was a vice-chancellor, and from November 1796 to April 1797 – the chancellor of the Russian Empire. Within a few years Ivan Andreevich erected in stone all the main structures and increased the height of the main house by one floor.

By 1786 a new palace and park ensemble appeared in Moscow - the Ostermans' Moscow residence. While preserving the original structure, the manor's layout acquired a regular character with a symmetrical composition with a rounded front yard, typical of mature Classicism. The main house was transformed into a three-story palace, which faced the park, and was connected to the two-storey side wings by semi-circular covered passageways. The name of the architect of the building is unknown; he may have belonged to the school of M. F. Kazakov. The park played an important role in the structure of the estate. It is unknown whether it existed at the time of the Streshnevs and how it was laid by I.A.Osterman – on an empty site or was a development of the old one. But one fact is certain: its planning scheme reflects the style features of Russian estate parks of the last third of the XVIII century.

After his retirement in 1797, Ivan Andreevich Osterman moved from St.Petersburg to his Moscow residence. Many years later the writer and journalist Mikhail Ivanovich Pilyaev wrote that Ivan Osterman lived in Moscow "hospitably and in an open house... There were sometimes up to a hundred or more persons of both sexes who came to his house for dinner, especially on Sundays. The count was almost ninety years old and retained his health and full memory of the past. His hospitality now seems almost dreamlike". On December 9, 1809 Osterman gave a dinner at his Moscow palace in honor of the Emperor Alexander I, who graced the Count with a visit.

content-img.jpeg

In 1796, brothers Ivan Andreevich and Fyodor Andreevich Osterman, who had no children, passed their title and surname to their grand-nephew Alexander Ivanovich Tolstoy. He was also bequeathed a Moscow estate in the alley, which became known as Bozhedomski, since it led to Bolshaya Bozhedomka Street. The choice of an heir was made not only because of blood kinship, but also because even at a very young age Colonel Alexander Tolstoy was a source of pride for the Osterman brothers. Alexander has earned the Order of Saint George of IV degree and took part in storming the fortress of Izmail (1790). Later on Aleksandr Ivanovich distinguished himself in the Patriotic War of 1812 and in the foreign campaigns of the Russian army, for which he was honored to be among the heroes, whose portraits are placed in the War Gallery of 1812 in the Hermitage. After receiving his inheritance, Alexander Ivanovich visited his Moscow residence only occasionally.

XIX century

Count Ostermann's house, like many other buildings in Moscow, was damaged by the fire of 1812. The wings that had survived were used to house the city's fire victims, but the main house was not restored for a long time. Despite Ivan Ostermann's testament ("that this house shall always remain called Count Osterman's House... and this house shall never be sold or mortgaged") A.I.Ostermann-Tolstoy, having decided to leave Russia for ever, in 1834 sold the estate to the Holy Synod to house the Moscow Theological Seminary.

content-img.jpeg

Only in the beginning of 1840s the building was reconstructed and expanded by A. F. Shchedrin. Training of seminarians began in 1844 in the former House of Count Osterman. Thirty years later another annex to the main house was built by the architect P.E.Bayev, which turned it into a closed square. In 1885 in accordance with the project by the same architect Baev a two-storey block of the diocesan dormitory was added to the east gallery.

XX century

On June 25, 1918, in accordance with the Decree of the Soviet government on separation of church from state and school from church, the building of the Moscow Theological Seminary was nationalized. Delegates to the Fifth All-Russian Congress of Soviets were accommodated in the vacated dormitory. As a dormitory for delegates to Congresses of Soviets the building was used until the Great Patriotic War and became known as the 3rd House of Soviets. Several times Lenin spoke to delegates in this building. In memory of this chapter in the history of our home in June 1941 Bozhedomsky Alley was renamed to Delegatskaya Street. After the Great Patriotic War, the building was given to the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet and the Council of Ministers of the RSFSR. In the early 1950s, a new three-story building was added to the building of seminary dormitory; stylistically the addition fully complies with the classicist appearance of most buildings of the architectural complex. The building was designed by one of the leading Soviet architects, V. G. Gelfreich, who had been involved in the design of the Stalin skyscrapers, the Russian State Library (the former Lenin Library).

content-img.jpeg

Architectural layering did not change the compositional core of the estate. All new buildings are not visible from the street. Architects have given them a subordinate role, leaving the primacy of the estate buildings, not violating but rather complementing the existing ensemble. In 1981, the building was given to the All-Russian Museum of Decorative, Applied and Folk Art, which was opened to the public on July 21, 1981. Read more about the history of the "House of Count Osterman" and its owners in the publication: Vitaly Dvorakovsky. The House of Count Ostermann. – М., 2020.

История здания

Всероссийский музей декоративного искусства расположен в историческом центре Москвы в комплексе зданий – памятнике архитектуры конца XVIII-XX веков. С этим местом связаны события нескольких эпох, имена многих известных исторических деятелей. Со второй четверти XVII века до 80-х годов XVIII века на участке, на котором сегодня располагаются здания музея и сквер, находилась загородная усадьба бояр Стрешневых. Первым Стрешневым, владевшим этим участком, был Лукьян Степанович Стрешнев, дочь которого Евдокия стала второй женой царя Михаила Федоровича Романова (1626 год). Это была именно загородная усадьба с рядом деревянных построек и значительными земельными участками. По современному исчислению общая площадь владений Стрешневых в этом районе Москвы в начале 1740-х годов составляла не менее 10 га.

XVIII век

После отмены указа о запрете строительства зданий из камня вне Санкт-Петербурга (1741 год) на территории усадьбы появились каменные сооружения. В 1772 году усадьба Стрешневых представляла собой уже целый комплекс жилых и хозяйственных построек. Главный дом – двухэтажный, на каменном основании. В 1782 году загородная усадьба Стрешневых перешла по наследству к графу Ивану Андреевичу Остерману, русскому дипломату, занимавшему с 1775 года пост вице-канцлера, а с ноября 1796 по апрель 1797 года — канцлера Российской империи. В течение нескольких лет Иван Андреевич возвел в камне все основные строения и увеличил высоту главного дома на один этаж.

К 1786 году в Москве появился новый дворцово-парковый ансамбль – московская резиденция Остерманов. Сохраняя старую основу, планировка усадьбы приобрела регулярный характер с типичной для зрелого классицизма симметричной композицией со скругленным парадным двором. Главный дом превратился в трехэтажный дворец, обращенный «покоем» к парку, и соединился с двухэтажными боковыми флигелями полуциркульными крытыми галереями-переходами. Имя архитектора здания неизвестно; вероятно, он принадлежал школе М.Ф.Казакова. Важное место в структуре усадьбы занимал парк. Неизвестно, существовал ли он при Стрешневых и как закладывался И.А.Остерманом — на пустом месте или был развитием старого. Но одно можно сказать с уверенностью: его планировочная схема отражает стилевые черты русских усадебных парков последней трети XVIII века.

После ухода в отставку в 1797 году Иван Андреевич Остерман переехал из Санкт-Петербурга в свою московскую резиденцию. Много лет спустя писатель и журналист Михаил Иванович Пыляев писал, что И.А.Остерман жил в Москве «хлебосольно и открытым домом… Приезжающих к нему на обед, особенно по воскресеньям, иногда было до ста и более персон обоего пола. Граф почти девяностолетним стариком сохранял здоровье и полную память о прошлом. Хлебосольство его теперь покажется почти сказочным». 9 декабря 1809 года в своем московском дворце Остерман дал обед в честь императора Александра I, удостоившего графа посещением.

В 1796 году братья Иван Андреевич и Федор Андреевич Остерманы, не имевшие детей, передали свой титул и фамилию внучатому племяннику Александру Ивановичу Толстому. Ему же по завещанию отходила московская усадьба в переулке, который стали называть Божедомским, так как он вел к улице Большая Божедомка. Выбор наследника был сделан не только из-за кровного родства, но и от того, что еще совсем молодой полковник Александр Толстой вызывал гордость у братьев Остерманов. Александр имел орден святого Георгия IV степени, участвовал в штурме крепости Измаил (1790 год). Впоследствии Александр Иванович отличился в Отечественной войне 1812 года и в заграничных походах русской армии, за что был удостоен чести попасть в число горев, чьи портреты размещены в Военной галерее 1812 года в Эрмитаже. Александр Иванович после получения наследства бывал в своей московской резиденции лишь изредка.

XIX век

Дом графа Остермана, как и многие другие постройки Москвы, пострадал при пожаре 1812 года. В уцелевших флигелях размещались городские погорельцы, а главный дом долго не восстанавливался. Несмотря на завещание Ивана Андреевича Остермана («чтоб оный дом всегда оставался под названием Дома Графа Остермана… и сей дом никогда не продавать и не закладывать») А.И.Остерман-Толстой, решив навсегда уехать из России, в 1834 году продал усадьбу Святейшему Синоду для размещения здесь Московской Духовной семинарии.

Только в начале 1840-х годов здание было восстановлено и расширено по проекту А. Ф. Щедрина. В 1844 году в бывшем Доме графа Остермана началось обучение семинаристов. Через 30 лет по проекту архитектора П.Е.Баева была возведена еще одна пристройка к главному дому, которая превратила его в замкнутое каре. В 1885 году по проекту того же П. Е. Баева к восточной галерее был пристроен двухэтажный корпус епархиального общежития.

XX век

25 июня 1918 года в соответствии с Декретом Советской власти об отделении церкви от государства и школы от церкви здание Московской духовной семинарии было национализировано. В освободившееся общежитие поселили делегатов Пятого Всероссийского съезда Советов. В качестве общежития для делегатов съездов Советов здание использовалось до Великой Отечественной войны и стало называться 3-м Домом Советов. Несколько раз в этом здании выступал перед делегатами В.И.Ленин. В память об этой главе истории нашего дома в июне 1941 года Божедомский переулок был переименован в Делегатскую улицу. После Великой Отечественной войны здание передали Президиуму Верховного совета и Совету Министров РСФСР. В начале 1950-х годов к зданию семинарского общежития был пристроен новый трехэтажный корпус, стилистически пристройка полностью соответствует классицистическому облику большинства строений архитектурного комплекса. Корпус был сооружен по проекту одного из ведущих советских архитекторов В. Г. Гельфрейха, который участвовал в проектировании сталинских высоток, здания Российской государственной библиотеки (бывшей библиотеки им. В.И.Ленина).

Архитектурные наслоения не изменили композиционного ядра усадьбы. Все новые здания не видны со стороны улицы. Архитекторы отвели им заведомо подчиненную роль, оставляя первенство за усадебными сооружениями, не нарушая, а дополняя сложившийся ранее ансамбль. В 1981 году здание было передано Всероссийскому музею декоративно-прикладного и народного искусства, открытому для посетителей 21 июля 1981 года. Подробнее об истории дома графа Остермана и его владельцах в издании: Виталий Двораковский. Дом графа Остермана. – М., 2020.