PRYALKOZAVR. ILYA YEVDOKIMOV

30 january – 24 april

Ilya Yevdokimov, a famous theatre and film artist, will present his project - "Pryalkosaurus" at the All-Russian Decorative Art Museum.

This is a story about the world, which knew nothing about dinosaurs, and yet which today seems as ancient, huge, natural as they are, and how this old Russian world can re-enter our imagination again.

For twenty years Ilya Yevdokimov has been creating background worlds for characters in films, TV series and commercials. Recently his worlds became their own, stepping into foreground and turning into art objects in the festive space of art galleries. The magic of cinema makes it possible to create characters that cannot exist in reality. And the real world offers something that cinema could never give: the feel the material, the touch of the texture, the heat, the roughness, the cracks. The technological junction of these two options creates a 3D sculpture in which the warmth and homeliness of something handmade gradually turns into a soaring construction of something prehistorically wild and beyond human control. Ilya Evdokimov has created a "Pryalkosaurus" (A Spin-wheel-saurus).

The author got the idea in 2023 from a two-week trip to the Russian north in the Vologda and Severodvinsk region. The artist, who spent his childhood in Murmansk, wanted to see the separate world of other Russian northerners – thee Pomors. He wished to see their famous churches painted from inside, their famous almost fairy-tale looking northern architecture, their everyday life, he longed to hear their ancient language. During his trip Evdokimov met with modern enthusiasts, restoring the original, bright Northern culture. And during one such visit he was welcomed to a shed with an involuntary art-installation - a large number of old spinning wheels huddled together. Their colours long faded, but en mass they seemed to be fragments of something more powerful and ancient than just a tool. "I thought about this seemingly small form, how many centuries it had been honed, how much skill, observation, patience was behind it, as if it was not just a human invention in front of me, but Evolution itself." This biological impression of the man-made objects was juxtaposed against the aesthetic impression from the nature-produced object – the remains of the dinosaurs. After all, once upon a time Russian north was a warm place and in the XIX Perm they found real bones of dinosaurs, the animals associating with antiquity itself, with evolution and slow work in the workshop of Nature.

The dinosaur is a magnificent structure chiselled by Nature, in museums it’s skeletons look like huge houses, where people could have once lived. It is a clear proof of the theory of evolution, and at the same time - a favourite toy of the modern child. While in cinema, the dinosaur is a sign of a new utopian world where the forms of nature and high-tech can meet again.

ПРЯЛКОЗАВР. ИЛЬЯ ЕВДОКИМОВ

30 января – 31 марта

Во Всероссийском музее декоративного искусства известный художник театра и кино Илья Евдокимов представит свой проект – «Прялкозавр».

Это рассказ о том, как мир, не знавший ничего о динозаврах, сегодня кажется нам столь же древним, огромным, природным, как они, и с другой стороны, как он сам – это старый русский мир – может снова войти в наше воображение.

Илья Евдокимов на протяжении двадцати лет создавал целые миры обитания для персонажей фильмов, сериалов, рекламных роликов. С недавних пор его миры сами стали героями и превратились в арт-объекты в праздничном пространстве арт-галерей. Волшебство кино дает возможность творить героев, которых не может быть в реальности. А реальный мир – то, что никогда не смогло бы дать кино: потрогать материал, прикоснуться к фактуре, почувствовать тепло, неровность, трещины. Технологический стык того и другого создает 3D скульптуру, в которой теплота и домашность чего-то ручного постепенно переходит в парящую конструкцию доисторически-дикого и человеку неподвластного. Илья Евдокимов создал «Прялкозавра».

Идея у автора родилась в 2023 году из двухнедельного путешествия на русский север по Вологодской области и Северодвинску. Художник, детство проведший в Мурманске, хотел посмотреть отдельный мир других северян – поморов, увидеть их расписанные изнутри церкви, знаменитую почти сказочную на вид северную архитектуру, быт, услышать их древний говор. Там Евдокимов встречался с современными подвижниками, восстанавливающими самобытную, яркую северную культуру, и у одного из них в ангаре обнаружил невольную инсталляцию – большое количество старинных прялок. Уже потерявших краски, но в массе казавшихся будто бы осколками чего-то более могучего и древнего. «Я подумал об этой как будто бы небольшой форме, о том, сколько веков она оттачивалась, сколько умений, наблюдательности, терпения стоит за ней, как если бы передо мной было не просто изобретение человека, а сама эволюция». Это биологическое впечатление мира легко и естественно наложилось на другое – на встречу с реальным динозавром. Ведь некогда русский север был теплым местом и в XIX в Перми были обнаружены кости динозавров, животных с которыми ассоциируется сама идея древности, эволюции и медленного хода работ в мастерской природы.

Динозавр – роскошная конструкция, выточенная природой, в музеях похожая на огромный дом, живой, в котором люди могли некогда жить. Это наглядное доказательство теории эволюции, и в то же время – любимая игрушка современного ребенка. А в кино динозавр – знак нового утопического мира, где формы природы и формы высокотехнологического могут встретиться вновь.