DESIGNED AND MADE IN RUSSIA (0+)

22 november – 28 february

The halls of the All-Russian Decorative Art Museum present the best examples of Russian object design. The exhibits include over 200 pieces of furniture, interior items, textiles and tableware.

The exhibition is the result of the All-Russian competition of object design, which was held for the third time (previous years: 2018, 2020) Almost a thousand designers from 84 cities of the country presented their experiments not only with the form, but also with the material to a competent jury of directors of leading Russian museums and experts. A total of 215 works were selected for the shortlist.

Elena Kharlamova, Director of the Department of Museums and External Relations, jury member: "The competition is actively developing, the number of participants is growing every year, more and more young professionals present their work. This year we have introduced a special youth nomination. The geography of the project is expanding; today the competition covers dozens of cities across the country, from St. Petersburg to Yakutsk. The expert jury includes representatives from the Russian Ministry of Industry and Trade. In the near future we will be holding meetings in the format of pitches for designers and businesses. This time we have paid special attention to applied arts, so that the results of the competition could be more practical".

Elena Titova, Director of All-Russian Decorative Art Museum of, chairman of the jury: "The potential of our creative industries depends on the interaction between creativity and the possibility of translating an idea into production. Our exhibition is important precisely from this point of view. We want to show that creative ideas have enormous potential in Russia. Many things can already be mass produced right now".

The winners were chosen in three main categories: industrial design, studio design, youth nomination and the out-of-competition Fine Craft, where beauty is more important than functionality. The Grand Prix was won by the work 'Uryndyk', or 'chair' in Tatar. Its author is the designer Pyotr Safiullin, founder of the Yaratam brand.

His work will go into the collection of the All-Russian Decorative Art Museum. Based on his experience of creating furniture, Pyotr Safiullin has tried to derive a formula for the ideal chair: "I believe that among other pieces of furniture, a chair is the hardest to design. Making the perfect chair is always a challenge for a designer. It should not just be interesting and attractive, it should be comfortable and be able to support load. I wanted to create a chair with a very simple design, lightweight, with well thought-out ergonomics, capable of withstanding dynamic load, one that can fit into any interior".

The trade fair programme includes an extensive programme of presentations on design, promotion, business and education, new markets and perspectives.

Curatorial tours and meetings with designers and experts will be held every Thursday and Saturday for the general audience. Visitors will also be able to take part in a popular vote and cast their vote for their favourite work on the competition website. The results will be announced on February 2, 2023.

To mark the opening of the exhibition, the 2nd year students of the department of musical sound engineering of the Gnesins Russian Academy of Music. Gnessin Russian Academy of Music under the guidance of sound designer and composer Viktor Osadchev, the project "Sounds of All-Russian Decorative Art Museum" has been created. Author of the idea: Natalia Loginova, curator of the contest "Designed and Made in Russia", head of the Fashion and Design Centre. Consultant: Marina Karpenko, lecturer in the Department of Musical Sound Design at the Gnesin Russian Academy of Music. Gnesins' Academy of Music.

Project partners and architects speak

The general partner of the contest "Designed and made in Russia" has become "LSR Group" - the leading construction holding in the country. The company's key regions of presence are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Sochi, and the Moscow and Leningrad regions. In Moscow, LSR currently has seven residential complexes of different classes under construction, the most famous of which is ZILART, recognised as the best housing estate in the Russian Federation.

"As a leader in our industry and one of the largest building holdings in Russia, we were interested in identifying leaders in the sphere of design ," said Alexander Zilbert, Director of Information Policy and Corporate Communications of LSR Group. - And we were so enthusiastic that we decided to create our own nomination. In it, the Organizing Committee and I decided to select the work that could become the first exhibit of the future Museum of Contemporary Art, which is currently being built as part of our flagship residential complex ZILART on the Moscow Boulevard of the Vesnin brothers. With the help of the distinguished jury, we chose the work "The Alphabets" by Diana Wouba. We were captivated by the way in which the artist reinterpreted the life-forming ideas of Russian avant-garde. In fact, we are doing the same thing in the ZILART project - it is no coincidence that its streets are named after famous Russian avant-gardists".

The official partner of the competition is oil service company NaftaGaz, which implements high-tech projects on construction of wells of all kinds and complexity in regions with harsh climatic conditions.

Tural Arifovich Kerimov, chairman of the board of directors of NaftaGaz company: "The All-Russian Decorative Art Museum acted as a Keeper and Creator. The orientation towards things Russian takes place in the extreme conditions of isolation and sanctions. But here we take advantage of this as a positive condition, as has often been the case in our history. The more difficult it is, the more talented we have to be. Maybe these conditions, when we have a chance to get to know our specialists better, including in design, will make us cast a different eye on Russia's intellectual, creative and innovative abilities".

Olga Kosyreva, design critic and founder of the Design Lab, jury member: "Everyone asks: why this chair? The answers are a hundred and one: this is a good, proper chair. "Good and proper" in design means useful, aesthetic, clear, unobtrusive, honest, durable, environmentally friendly, thoughtful, and it is a design that has "as little design as possible". These are nine of the 10 principles of good design formulated by the great Dieter Rams. And the tenth principle is innovativeness, and here, perhaps, this chair is missing something. There's nothing innovative about it, it's just a sturdy product, and it looks like a hundred different other chairs at the same time. But Russian design in principle is not yet at a level where you can see all these ten principles in a product. We all sat on this and the other 14 chairs in the competition and were 'bribed' by the modesty, quality and comfort of the item".

ПРИДУМАНО И СДЕЛАНО В РОССИИ (0+)

22 ноября – 28 февраля

В залах Всероссийского музея декоративного искусства представлены лучшие образцы российского предметного дизайна. Среди экспонатов более 200 предметов мебели, предметов интерьера, текстиля и посуды.

Выставка – это результат всероссийского конкурса предметного дизайна, который прошел уже в третий раз (предыдущие годы проведения: 2018, 2020) Почти тысяча дизайнеров из 84 городов страны представили свои эксперименты не только с формой, но и с материалом компетентному жюри из директоров ведущих музеев России и экспертов. Для шорт-листа было отобрано 215 работ. 

Елена Харламова, директор департамента Департамента музеев и внешних связей, член жюри: «Конкурс активно развивается, с каждым годом растет количество участников, всё больше молодых специалистов представляют свои работы. В этом году мы ввели специальную молодежную номинацию. Расширяется география проекта, сегодня конкурс охватывает десятки городов по всей стране – от Санкт-Петербурга до Якутска. В экспертное жюри вошли представители Минпромторга России. В ближайшее время мы проведем встречи в формате питчингов дизайнеров и бизнеса. В этот раз особое внимание мы обратили на предметы прикладного искусства, чтобы итоги конкурса смогли приобрести более практических характер».

Елена Титова, директор Всероссийского музея декоративного искусства, председатель жюри: «Потенциал наших креативных индустрий зависит от того, как взаимодействуют между собой творчество с возможностью воплощения идеи в производстве. Наша выставка важна именно с этой точки зрения. Мы хотим показать, что в России у креативных идей огромный потенциал. Многие вещи уже прямо сейчас можно производить в массовом порядке».

Победителей определили в трех основных номинациях: промышленный дизайн, студийный дизайн, номинация «молодежная» и внеконкурсной Fine Craft, где красота важнее функциональности.

Гран-при выиграла работа «Урындык» или «стул» по-татарски. Его автор – дизайнер Пётр Сафиуллин, основатель бренда Yaratam. Его работа войдет в коллекцию Всероссийского музея декоративного искусства. На основе существующего опыта создания мебели Петр Сафиуллин попытался вывести формулу идеального стула: «Я считаю, что среди других предметов мебели стул проектировать сложнее всего. Сделать идеальный стул – это всегда вызов для дизайнера. Он должен быть не только интересным и красивым, а еще и удобным, выдерживать нагрузки. Я хотел создать стул с самым простым дизайном, легкий, с продуманной эргономикой, способный выдерживать динамические нагрузки, тот, который сможет вписаться в любой интерьер».

К выставке подготовлена обширная деловая программа, освещающая вопросы дизайна, способы его продвижения, бизнес и профессиональное образование, новые рынки и перспективы развития. 

Для широкой аудитории каждый четверг и субботу будут проходить кураторские экскурсии, встречи с дизайнерами и экспертами. Также посетители смогут поучаствовать в народном голосовании и отдать свой голос за понравившуюся работу на сайте конкурса. Итоги будут подведены 2 февраля 2023.

К открытию выставки студентами 2 курса кафедры музыкальной звукорежиссуры Российской Академии музыки им. Гнесиных под руководством звукорежиссёра и композитора Виктора Осадчева создан проект «Звуки Всероссийского музея декоративного искусства». Автор идеи: Наталья Логинова, куратор конкурса «Придумано и сделано в России», руководитель центра моды и дизайна. Консультант: Марина Карпенко, преподаватель кафедры музыкальной звукорежиссуры Российской Академии музыки им. Гнесиных. 

Говорят партнеры и архитекторы проекта

Генеральным партнером конкурса «Придумано и сделано в России» стала «Группа ЛСР» – ведущий строительный холдинг страны. Ключевые регионы присутствия компании — Москва, Санкт-Петербург, Екатеринбург, Сочи, Московская и Ленинградская области. В Москве у ЛСР сейчас строятся семь жилых комплексов разного класса, самый известный из которых — «ЗИЛАРТ», признанный лучшим ЖК РФ.

«Как лидеру в своей отрасли, одному из крупнейших строительных холдингов России, нам было интересно поучаствовать в выявлении лидеров в среде дизайна, – рассказал Александр Зильберт, директор по информационной политике и корпоративным коммуникациям «Группы ЛСР». – Причем мы настолько увлеклись, что решили учредить собственную номинацию. В ней мы с Оргкомитетом решили отобрать работу, которая могла бы стать первым экспонатом будущего Музея современного искусства, который сейчас вовсю возводится в рамках нашего флагманского ЖК «ЗИЛАРТ» на московском бульваре братьев Весниных. С помощью уважаемого жюри мы остановили свой выбор на работе Дианы Воуба «Алфавитяне». Нас покорило то, как художница переосмысливает жизнестроительные идеи русского авангарда. Собственно, тем же самым и мы занимаемся в рамках проекта «ЗИЛАРТ» – не случайно его улицы названы в честь знаменитых отечественных авангардистов».

Официальный партнер конкурса – нефтесервисная компания «НафтаГаз», реализующая высокотехнологические проекты по строительству скважин всех видов и любой сложности в регионах с суровыми природно-климатическими условиями.

Турал Арифович Керимов, председатель совета директоров компании «НафтаГаз»: «Всероссийский музей декоративного искусства выступил как Хранитель и Созидатель. Ориентация на российское происходит в экстремальных условиях изоляции и санкций. Но в данном случае мы пользуемся этим как положительным условием, как это часто бывало в нашей истории. Чем сложнее – тем талантливее. Быть может эти условия, когда у нас появилась возможность больше узнать своих специалистов, в том числе, в дизайне, заставят по-другому посмотреть на интеллектуальные, творческие, новаторские способности России».

Ольга Косырева, дизайн-критик и основатель Дизайн-лектория, член жюри: «Все спрашивают: почему этот стул? Ответов сотня и одновременно ответ один: это хороший правильный стул. «Хороший и правильный» в дизайне означает полезный, эстетичный, понятный, ненавязчивый, честный, долговечный, экологичный, продуман до мелочей, а также это дизайн, в котором «как можно меньше дизайна». Это 9 из 10 принципов хорошего дизайна, сформулированных великим Дитером Рамсом. А десятый принцип — инновационность, и тут, возможно, этому стулу чего-то недостаёт. В нем нет ничего новаторского, это просто крепкий продукт, и он похож на сто разных других стульев одновременно. Но российский дизайн в принципе не находится ещё на том уровне, когда в продукте можно увидеть все эти десять принципов. Мы все сидели на этом и на остальных 14 стульях, выставленных на конкурс и были «подкуплены» скромностью, качеством и удобством предмета».