THE TRADITIONAL FOLK ART OF RUSSIA

01 january – 31 december

What do you think is Russian folk art? This question is asked by our guides, starting their narrative. “It’s a fairy tale,” answer children and adults alike, entering the exhibit’s first room. Guest are welcomed by big-eyed mermaids, guard lions with flowery tails, intricately curved patterns skillfully carved on houses façades, window frames, or frontal boards of cornices and gates.

All the varieties of folk art existed together, forming an integral part of peasants’ life. They were firmly woven into the Russian countryside’s lifestyle. A cheerful view of life, a wealth of experience and knowledge, a variety of skills, plots and images were passed down from generation to generation, giving birth to the tradition. The museum’s four rooms contain a collection of the best examples of traditional Russian art.

Trees as living creatures

The tree was a very important part of a Russian peasant’s life. The respect for trees as living beings and the deep knowledge of the properties of wood gave rise to many traditions. Before cutting down a tree, peasants talked to it, asking it to forgive them for the pain caused. Very old trees were not cut down, as it was believed that they should die a natural death. Everything was made of wood: cupboards, benches, chests, sleighs, household utensils, baby cradles, and famous spinning wheels. Each item was lovingly decorated with intricate painting and ornate carvings. The spinning wheel was a housewife’s pride. It was given her in childhood or on the wedding day, as a cherished gift, and then passed on by inheritance.

Ship wood carving

When steamships appeared on the Volga in the XIX century, many carpenters who were previously engaged in ship carving switched to decorating village houses. The carvings from ships came ashore and took up residency in peasants’ homes. They were used to decorate gables, window frames, cornices, and gates. Such carvings were called “Dressing up the house,” and could cost more than the log house itself. Ship carvers perfectly mastered the techniques of the Volga flat carving, decorating houses with protective charms woven into the carved décor. Sculptural flexibility and excellent craftsmanship of their work created the effect of movement that appeared in the carving due to the play of light and shadow, sunrise and sunset, weather and seasons.

Toys

Today, it is impossible to imagine the history of folk toys without Sergiev Posad, town in which the toy-making art has been developing since the XVII century. It is no coincidence that Sergiev Posad was called the toy capital in the XIX century. Wooden figurines that were carved there possessed all characteristic features of the art of sculpture: they embodied real everyday characters, subtly conveying their details and expressions. Painted wooden elegant young ladies and hussars, soldiers and peasants, birds and animals, made Sergiev Posad toys famous all over the world.

Unlike Sergiev Posad masters, carvers from Bogorodsk did not paint their toys: they appreciated the natural color and texture of wood. The world of the Russian village comes to life in Kargopol toy clay figurines featuring robust and squat peasants, cheerful accordionists, hunters, animals and birds. The famous Dymkovo ladies in smart outfits, nurses with babies, and lush-tailed turkeys fascinate us with their colorful brightness. Clay figurines served as toys, but also as living space decorations and symbols of well-being.

Women’s festive attire

In XVII to early XX centuries, the folk costume combined patterned weaving, embroidery, printed cloth, lace, and monastic gold embroidery. The folk costume preserved and carried through the centuries its main features: layering, simple and comfortable cut, with plenty of decorative details and finishings. The best clothing served more than one generation and was worn on especially solemn occasions. The headdress was the most significant detail of a festive outfit. Its decor included images of the sun, birds, and the world tree, embodying the idea of ​​the sky. “Look at the kokoshnik headdresses from the side,” our guides like to say. “In each of them you can easily recognize a bird’s crest." It is no coincidence that the names of women’s headdresses were associated with birds: kokoshnik (from the Old Russian kokosh which means rooster or hen), kika or kichka (duck), soroka (magpie). Among the variety of items presented, there is a maidenly koruna, resembling a fairytale princess’s headdress in shape and abundance of ornaments.

Buy ticket Events calendar

ТРАДИЦИОННОЕ НАРОДНОЕ ИСКУССТВО

01 января – 31 декабря

Как вы думаете, что такое русское народное искусство? Этот вопрос задают наши экскурсоводы, начиная свой рассказ. «Сказка», – в один голос отвечают дети и взрослые, попадая в первый зал экспозиции. Здесь посетителей встречают большеглазые русалки, сторожевые львы с проросшими хвостами, причудливо-вьющиеся орнаменты, искусно вырезанные на фасадах домов, оконных наличниках, на лобовых досках – карнизах, воротах.

Все виды народного искусства существовали в единстве и были неотъемлемой частью жизни, они прочно вплетались в жизненный уклад русской деревни. Радостное восприятие жизни, опыт, знание, мастерство, сюжеты и образы передавались из поколения в поколение, рождая традицию. В четырёх залах музея собрана коллекция лучших образцов традиционного русского искусства.

Дерево как живое существо

Дерево было очень важной частью жизни русского крестьянина. Уважительное отношение к дереву как к живому существу, глубокое знание свойств материала, породило множество традиций. Например, перед тем как дерево срубить, с ним разговаривали, просили прощения за причиненную боль. Очень старые деревья не рубили, считалось, что они должны умирать естественной смертью. Из дерева мастерили буквально все: шкафы-поставцы, лавки, сундуки, сани, домашнюю утварь, детские колыбели, знаменитые прялки. Каждый предмет любовно украшался как замысловатой росписью, так и нарядной резьбой. Прялка была гордостью хозяйки, её дарили ещё в детстве или в день свадьбы, дорогой подарок берегли, передавали по наследству.

Корабельная резьба

С появлением в XIX веке на Волге пароходов многие плотники, занимавшиеся корабельной резьбой, переключились на украшения деревенских домов. Резьба с кораблей сошла на берег и облюбовала избы, ими украшали фронтоны, наличники окон, карнизы, ворота. «Одевать дом» – так говорили про декор, который порой мог стоить дороже самого сруба. Корабельные резчики в совершенстве владели приёмами волжской глухой домовой резьбы, вплетая в резные мотивы фигуры-обереги. Скульптурная пластичность и мастерство их работ создавала эффект движения в резьбе за счет игры света и тени, восхода и заката солнца, погоды и времени года.

Игрушки

Сегодня невозможно представить народную игрушку без Сергиева Посада, в котором еще с XVII веке развивалось «игрушечное дело». Неслучайно в XIX веке Сергиев Посад так и называли: «игрушечная столица». Здесь вырезали фигурки из дерева, которым свойственны все черты искусства скульптуры – реальных персонажей, увиденных в жизни, с тонко подмеченными деталями и характерами. Это и расписные нарядные барышни, и гусары, солдаты и крестьяне, птицы и звери, благодаря которым сергиево-посадская игрушка стала знаменита на весь мир.

В отличие от посадских мастеров богородские резчики не расписывали свои игрушки, они ценили естественный цвет дерева и его фактуру. Мир русской деревни оживает в фигурках из глины: грубоватых и приземистых крестьянах, в веселых гармонистах, охотниках, зверях и птицах каргопольской игрушки. Яркостью и многоцветием завораживают знаменитые дымковские барыни в щегольских нарядах, няни-кормилки, важные, пышнохвостые индюки. Глиняные фигурки служили не только игрушками, но и являлись декоративным элементом жилого пространства, символом благополучия.

Женский праздничный костюм

В народном костюме XVII – начала XX века совмещались и узорное ткачество, и вышивка, и набойка, и кружевоплетение, и монастырское золотное шитье. Народный костюм сохранил и пронёс через века основные черты: многослойность, простой и удобный крой, обязательную отделку деталей. Выходная одежда служила для особо торжественных случаев не одному поколению. Самая значимая деталь праздничного наряда – головной убор. Его декор включал изображения солнца, птиц, мирового дерева, воплощая идею неба. «Посмотрите на кокошник сбоку», – любят говорить наши экскурсоводы. «В каждом из них вы легко узнаете гребень птицы». Неслучайно названия женских головных уборов связаны с её образом: «кокошник» (от древнерусского «кокошь» – петух, курица), «кика», «кичка» (утка), «сорока». Среди разнообразия представленных предметов – девичья «коруна», по форме и обилию украшений напоминающая убор сказочной царевны.

Купить билет Календарь событий